Another Car Show – with pictures

Last Saturday, Libby and i went to the Fall Car show. It should have been held last month, but we had the remnants of a hurricane passing through at the time and so it was rescheduled. Unfortunately, Saturday was the first wintry day we’ve had (we’ve had a gorgeous fall this year) and so attendance was a little sparse. Still, there were some interesting vehicles on display. Land Rovers were thin on the ground, just Libby and a Defender 130 being rebuilt, although a Santana 88 turned up for a short while (so short that I couldn’t get a picture of it). There were however a considerable number of Triumphs – I think I counted 10 at one point, as well as a large number of British accents. It seems like the Baltimore region is home to a number of exiles!

Still, here are the photo’s for your enjoyment.

Libby on Display Peerless racing car behind

Libby on Display
Peerless racing car behind

Just proving who owns it (or does it own me?)

Just proving who owns it (or does it own me?)

Best of British Land Rover, Peerless and Triumph TR6 (LHD)

Best of British
Land Rover, Peerless and Triumph TR6 (LHD)

Peerless

Peerless

Red TR6 and What may be a Healey

Red TR6 and an Austin Healey

IMG_1826

TR6 LHD

Moggie Minor Traveller and yet another Triumph!

Moggie Minor Traveller and yet another Triumph!

Triumph

Triumph

Traveller. My Gran used to have one of these in red and this brings back memories of wet summer holidays with misted windows and the smell of wet dog from the back

Traveller. My Gran used to have one of these in red and this brings back memories of wet summer holidays with misted windows and the smell of wet dog from the back

All British lineup

All British lineup

Restored E-type - Yours for a mere $150K!

Restored E-type – Yours for a mere $150K!

D130 - Looks like a custom build

D130 – Looks like a custom (re)build

Elderly Porsche

Elderly Porsche

Can't remember what this one was, but I think it was Italian

Can’t remember what this one was, but I think it was Italian

Restored Morgan

Restored Morgan

Whippet - a manufacturer I've never heard of before

Whippet – a manufacturer I’ve never heard of before

Taxi and a white TR6

Taxi and a white TR6

Childs size electric sports car

Childs size electric sports car

Jag (I think) in the workshop

Jag (I think) in the workshop

It said Morgan on the front, so I guess it is. But I don't know much about the actual vehicle type. It's a three wheeler and looks like a crossover between a car and motorcycle.

It said Morgan on the front, so I guess it is. But I don’t know much about the actual vehicle type. It’s a three wheeler and looks like a crossover between a car and motorcycle.

3 thoughts on “Another Car Show – with pictures

  1. Some interesting vehicles there. I’m always surprised that your little cars shows attract more ‘exotic’ british sports cars than our main shows here. E type jags are very rare over here, I guess because the weather got to them and they rusted away? I’ve only seen a couple in my whole life and I’ve been to hundreds of classic car shows. The morgan 3 wheeler is a popular model over here, it is in a current model still being produced and you can get it in various colours including a camo green colour with RAF roundels etc to pretend you are in a WW2 fighter. I suspect the Morgan 3 wheeler actually feels more uncomfortable and has less creature comforts than even a 1940’s fighter! 😉

    • Thanks for the additional info on the three wheeler. I like the idea of one in aerial camouflage and RAF roundels, but as you say, I imagine it is damned uncomfortable (not to say terrifying) to drive. I once thought Libby looked like a 1960’s BR Brunswick Green diesel locomotive (well she is diesel…..) and in an idle moment wondered what she would look like with yellow warning patches front and rear and BR Lion and Wheel totems on the side? She would need to be numbered of course (D109?). But I regained my sanity a few moments later……. Eventually when I restore my 110, i want to paint that in Hong Kong Police colors (Dark Navy blue with cream top).

      There are a surprising number of classic British cars around here. In much of the US, British is equated with “class” (you should see the following that British TV shows have, especially Downton Abbey) and that also extends to cars. However, most of these vehicles are pampered occasional use vehicles, i.e. only driven on nice summer days. Some of them have had extensive ground up restorations, costing hundreds of thousands of dollars, and are now probably far superior in build quality to when they first rolled off the assembly line. However, with all their perfection, you do wonder if these vehicles have lost some of their “essence” as part of the process. I expect that many of the cars in the pictures above do not venture out of the garage except for the odd show. Instead, I prefer vehicles like Libby and Alisons Morris Minor that get used regularly for “normal activities, even if they have a few bumps and dings. Libby gets used for many chores such as the weekly shop, going to the dump, bringing home bags of mulch or horse dung (for the garden), etc. About the only time she doesn’t get used is when they start salting the roads for winter, as they use so much of the stuff, she would probably rust out in no time. (The amount of salt they put down on the roads here is ridiculous – sometimes it’s almost 1/2 inch thick and like driving on gravel. It also doesn’t do any good when the temperatures drop really low. But I digress….).

      I usually go to the smaller shows, which tend to specialize in European vehicles. There are also some larger ones around, but these tend to be more American muscle car types, which frankly don’t do much for me. There were a few of these at the show, but to be honest, the pictures didn’t come out well, so I didn’t feel they were worthy of inclusion.

  2. I also prefer a ‘rough around the edges’ daily driver to a pampered show queen.

    Our Annie is used all year around including in winter on equally over salted UK roads (they even salt when it is raining and +6c!!!! We have a population of numpties that can’t drive on the slightest bit of ice or snow so the ‘generally inept’ joe public demand the gritters are out at the first hint of a frost (October 😉 ) and it continues until April, 6 months of salted roads in some years.

    I actually like some muscle cars. A Dodge Charger or Plymouth ‘Cuda has been on my wish list since I was a kid – long before the Fast and Furious craze caught on. I guess you can blame ‘The Dukes Of Hazzard’. Mind you I was also very keen on pickup trucks almost certainly due to watching US TV shows and while never owning a big full size yank pickup I have owned 7 pickup trucks (excluding the Land Rovers) since I passed my test. I think shows like ‘The Fall Guy’ etc all featured pickups on big fat tyres and lifted suspension.

Leave a Reply

